wcma 2012

2012 Western Canadian Music Award Nominees Announced

Several Sask. Artists Announced As Nominees in Awards Gala

The Western Canadian Music Alliance announced their nominees for the 2012 Western Canadian Music Awards.

Among the nominees are several Sask. artists, including Saskatoon’s Deep Dark Woods, Foam Lake, Jay Semko and Regina’s Library Voices.

The 2012 Western Canadian Music Award Winners are set to be announced at The Gala Awards Show on Sunday, September 30th in Regina, SK as part of the BreakOut West weekend. The final jury and membership voting will begin June 5 and will wrap up June 25.

Ominocity would like to congratulate to all nominees.

Below is a list of the Saskatchewan nominees:

Children’s Recording of the Year
Sylvia Chave – The Orange Album

Francophone Recording of the Year
Michel Lalonde – L’Amour Fou

Independent Album of the Year
Foam Lake – Force and Matter
The Deep Dark Woods – The Place I Left Behind

Instrumental Recording of the Year
Scott Benson Band – Scott Benson Band

Jazz Recording of the Year
Jeff McLeod – Double Entendre

Pop Recording of the Year
Library Voices – Summer of Lust

Roots Solo Recording of the Year
Jay Semko – Sending Love

Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year
The Deep Dark Woods – The Place I Left Behind

Songwriter(s) of the Year
Jason Plumb – Jason Plumb and The Willing, “Sweet Misery”
Ryan Boldt – The Deep Dark Woods, “The Place I Left Behind”