Polaris Music Prize 2014

The Polaris Music Prize unveils the 2014 short list

Once again, there is a complete lack of Saskatchewan artists on the Polaris short list

The 2014 Polaris Music Prize short list has been unveiled.

Selected by over 190 journalists and broadcasters from across Canada, the short list was unveiled on July 15, revealing the following jury-approved nominees:

Arcade Fire – Reflektor
Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow
Drake – Nothing Was the Same
Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back
Mac DeMarco – Salad Days
Owen Pallett – In Conflict
Shad – Flying Colours
Tanya Tagaq – Animism
Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams

While several Saskatchewan artists have been added as part of the Polaris Prize’s long list, including Saskatoon’s Shooting Guns in 2012 and 2014, and Regina’s Rah Rah in 2013, the jury has yet to nominate a Sask. band to the short list.

For those not in the know, the Polaris Music Prize is a music award annually given to the best full-length Canadian album-based on artistic merit, regardless of genre, sales, or record label.

The winner of this year’s Polaris Music Prize will be announced at the gala event on September 22.

Subscribe to Rdio