Shooting Guns among 2014 Polaris Prize long list nominees

Saskatoon sludge rock group up for award for Brotherhood of the Ram LP

Remember back in 2012 when Shooting Guns was announced as part of the Polaris Prize long list nominees for their album Born To Deal in Magic 1952-1976?

Well, the 2014 40 Long List albums was unveiled earlier today at the National Music Centre in Calgary in association with the Sled Island Music Festival. And Shooting Guns are once again among the nominees for their latest album Brotherhood of the Ram.

For those not in the know, the Polaris Music Prize is a music award annually given to the best full-length Canadian album-based on artistic merit, regardless of genre, sales, or record label.

So it’s kind of a big deal, you dig?

The Short List for this year’s prize is set to be announced on July 15, while the winner of the 2014 Polaris Music Prize will be unveiled at the gala event on September 22.

Go team!

In case you were wondering, here are the other artists and albums that were nominated for the Long List:

Arcade Fire – Reflektor
AroarA – In The Pines
Austra – Olympia
Philippe B – Ornithologie, la nuit
Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow
Chromeo – White Women
Cousins – The Halls of Wickwire
Cowboy Junkies/Various Artists – The Kennedy Suite
The Darcys -Warring
Dead Obies – Montréal $ud
Mac DeMarco – Salad Days
DIANA – Perpetual Surrender
Drake – Nothing Was the Same
Freedom Writers – NOW
Fresh Snow – I
Frog Eyes – Carey’s Cold Spring
Gorguts – Colored Sands
Tim Hecker – Virgins
Jimmy Hunt – Maladie d’amour
Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back
Kalle Mattson – Someday, The Moon Will Be Gold
Moonface – Julia With Blue Jeans On
Mounties – Thrash Rock Legacy
Odonis Odonis – Hard Boiled Soft Boiled
Owen Pallett – In Conflict
Pink Mountaintops – Get Back
The Sadies – Internal Sounds
Shad – Flying Colours
Shooting Guns – Brotherhood of the Ram
Solids – Blame Confusion
Rae Spoon – My Prairie Home
The Strumbellas – We Still Move On Dance Floors
Tanya – Tagaq Animism
Thus Owls – Turning Rocks
Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams
Chad VanGaalen – Shrink Dust
Bry Webb – Free Will

Subscribe to Rdio